Book Review: Tale Journey, by Kavya Janani

 

This is a late review from me. First of all, I owe my apology to Kavya for that, because I am one of her close friends and this should have been out the very next day of her publication. Sorry, darling! There were some scenes in my book that demanded my attention and refused to let me go unless I wrote them. As soon as I was done, I downloaded my girl’s book from Amazon Kindle and read it in one stroke.

Tale Journey: A Collection of 21 Stories, authored by writer/singer/blogger/music-enthusiast Kavya Janani, is a compilation of not just short narratives but the different kind of musings that inspire her on a daily basis. The creativity that always stays ripe in her mind was meticulously patterned out and shaped into wonderful sentences to construct this heart-warming collection. Divided into categories of Love, Thriller, Horror, Humour, Family, Friendship and Inspirational, the tales promise an effect of drinking hot chocolate on a rainy day.

Under the category of Love, there are seven couples who have various kinds of love stories brewing between them. None of them sport any resemblance to the other. This was my most favourite category, not just because I’m a sucker for romance, but the beauty that lay in each and every relationship. You have a girl who squares her shoulders and makes the first move, you have a poor hopeless romantic who has an epiphany of what’s imagination and reality, you have a lost love that gave life, you have an interesting exchange of silent messages to which a lone desk is the only witness, and you also have two of the unexpected souls to fall in love too. Trust me when I say that last one I just mentioned isn’t a love between a man and a woman. And, people, I strongly advise you to not get the wrong impression either 😉 😛

The Thriller section had two stories I had my heart pounding for. There were four under that and I loved all, but these two really gave me an adrenaline rush. They were very clever, I was so impressed! Coming to the Horror part, now, I shudder at the very mention of ghost; I always avoid watching related movies or reading related books. But you just had to make me go against my resolution here 😛 Putting aside my wary apprehension and forcing myself to keep calm, I really enjoyed them actually. Both of them had unique concepts and the way you strung them together into one big revelation at the climax was spell-binding. They weren’t overdone, nor were they for the light-hearted either. The Humour section had a story that had me in splits. I never thought the WordPress blog post that starred in that story could drive the poor girl into unexpected hilarities. I loved you for creating a fresh idea out of it, Kavya 😀

The last three categories of Family, Friendship and Inspirational all had divergent essences within their tales. Each and every character that had a role in them frolicked with the challenges of life. They got hit, they got cured, and then they got enlightened. They all had various morals to deliver at the climax and I grasped some needed lessons from them as well.

A Tale Journey is a must read for all.

Click here to download the Amazon Kindle version.

You will definitely enjoy Kavya’s hard work and all of the love and thought she has put into each and every story. Grab it right now!

I am eagerly waiting for your full length novel, With Love, Forever, to come out soon. I know everything you’re going through and I want you to know that you are a warrior who won’t ever stop fighting till the end. None of your devoted battles are going to be lost. That book is going to gleam as a paperback or hardback soon and will earn a special place in the hearts of all readers soon enough.

Excellent job, Kavya, I’m so proud of you for this accomplishment! Will always be here for you to cheer you on and well wish you. God’s always with you.

~~~~~

~~~~~

If I review on a book written by a cherished bestie of mine, I cannot stop myself from publicly writing a love letter to her. I did it with the review for Broken Magic, a beautiful and heart-wrenching love story by my Bala, and here’s another love letter now, this time to Kavya. I intended to proudly display her accomplishment out to the world plain and clear first before doing that, so now that I have, I would like to share the story of the friendship between this sweetheart and me.

I found this curious girl, Kavya Janani, in WordPress way back in the summer of 2015, through Bala’s page. Bala, I owe you for giving me this funny little sweetheart. If anyone here wonders if a fiery and compassionate affinity for music can be locked within a soul that pours its heart out into writing and singing at the same time, excelling in both, you have your living example right in here in the form of Kavya.

I love you, my twinnie (this term you coined is awesome!)

Kavya didn’t take long to win my heart with the short stories she posted on a roll on her blog. I used to open my reader feeder eagerly to read them, like and comment on them. And every reply of hers made my heart swell, not just with the ecstasy I was bringing a beam onto a fellow girl’s face, but with a sisterly love I was developing hugely within me. I felt a connection with you instantly, which happens with only a limited number of people for me. WordPress comments between Kavya and me developed into Google mails, which eventually morphed into Whatsapp chats and phone calls. Everyone here should know that Kavya is one terrific singer with a powerful voice to keep you entrapped with fascination. I wanted to hear her voice so bad, so I requested she send me an audio of one of her songs through Whatsapp one fine day. She obliged and as I plugged my earphones in and waited, an exquisite music danced through my eardrums. Her wonderful soprano followed it, bashing the high pitch notes required without trouble and I had utter shock on my face as I realised she wasn’t an established singer in an orchestra for nothing.

I couldn’t help it.

I immediately went into fan girl mode as I voice-recorded my review. That was the first time we heard each other and that was the day I found out just how much I loved her. Kavya, just so you know, I listened to that song a lot of times 😀

I’m waiting for the day your outstanding voice is going to rock the BGMs.

But she isn’t an artist in one genre. She is an avid writer too, with thoughts swirling around the possibilities in the most trivial of scenarios, as you can very well see from my review. Her every story constitutes situations people tend to overlook. But authors don’t do that. They look for inspiration within every nook and crank of the day and this collection shows what a perceptive author Kavya is.

I have a tendency to be scatterbrained when it comes to parenting my characters. I forget about everything else. Reminders are always nestled in the back of my mind but they just don’t come forward in the nick of time, which was why I was highly grateful for your latest mail, Kavya (I probably shouldn’t have read that with a glass of water in my hand, it was hilarious XD )

I’m so happy to have you in my life, darling. Whenever I talk with you, my insides turn warm, spreading the feeling everywhere, and the more I chat, the more I want to see you. Because we have so much of similarities between each other. I’m eagerly waiting for the day we’ll meet face to face and jump in each others’ arms.

Lots of love!

Deepika ❤

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Nimz says:

    So much of Love.. ❤ 🙂 ❤ Loved it Deepika.. And it is heart whelming to see you people's love.. My two little sisters.. ❤ Love You both.. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Deepika what a beautiful review and letter to your very talented and sweet friend ❤ The book sounds really good I am also a sucker for romance *Sigh* this sounds like a perfect read like you said on a rainy day with a hot chocolate!! 🙂 I'll check it out on Amazon and it's always a joy to read your blogs! Keep writing away girl ❤ ❤

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, Jen! ❤ Yeah, the book is like a flower you know. So sweetly and lovingly written. You'll definitely love it! ❤ Romance genre is always awesome, Jen 😉 I indulge in reading them so much 😀 I also happen to be addicted to your beautiful blog too, darling ❤ I love your writing too! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Aawww thank you Deepika it’s great when you read my blog I love it because then I can see your cool gravatar and awesome comments ❤ April is going to be big and crazy so get ready for some fun 😛 hahaha 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha! I think that’s a good idea 😀 Flying over to my google inbox right away!

    Like

  4. Beautiful feedback what you have posted for your lovely friend Kavya is wonderful sweetie…. Feedback itself is very tremendous !!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, bae!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

