Orca Love

Ever since I watched the movie Free Willy, I’ve always been in love with orcas. I dislike the term “killer whales”, as it stamps a false killer image to these beautiful sea mammals. Right from my single digit ages, I’ve always nurtured a desire to stroke an orca. Look at how God has created them, with a curvy muscular form under a sleek black and white coat.

Before I realised I had a writing pen, orcas, whales and dolphins were all that I could think of. Dreams starred myself going out into the ocean as a marine mammalogist, diving into the water, documenting my favourite creatures and basically spending a part of my life with them. My besties know how much of a nut I was about whales and dolphins in our last year of high school, and I bet they can also remember how I said I wanted to surf alongside a gigantic blue whale one time. But my main focus was orcas, and it remains to be the same. This special desire of mine has never left me, always nestled warmly in one corner of my heart. I admit large creatures scare the bejeezus out of me, which turns my dream of swimming beside any whale, let alone the blue whale, into a silly idea, but I can’t seem to let go of it. I can’t pursue a career in marine mammology now, but I can always go on a whale spotting holiday, to satiate my craving to look at whales and dolphins without a screen.

Everything to do with oceans and sea mammals always consume me subconsciously, I don’t know how or why I’m so attached to them, but it makes me happy to look at pictures of the underwater world or images of orcas and dolphins. I find my refuge within them, even if they are just a collection of pixels. Anytime I go to a beach, I stare off into the ocean hoping I can see a breaching or a lobbing of a fluke. Wishful thinking, I know, but a girl can always dream.

Fortunately, my desire to see a dolphin at least gave me justice once two years ago.

I was taking an early morning walk at the beach in Pondicherry with my mother and cousins, when we spotted a series of dorsal fins slicing through the water, just thirty feet away from the shore rocks. I first thought they were sharks and became shocked at what they were doing there, when the next second, I looked closely and noticed the unmistakable curve of the fins and backs, a style only dolphins adopted. My jaw dropped at the fact I was actually seeing dolphins, in the ocean. I wished they were jumping, but this was a blessed sight too. We jogged to keep up with them and they remained in our sights for quite a while before we had to stop and wave goodbye.

My affinity for oceans and marine mammals ended up having a little influence in my fantasy series. I hope I can see orcas without a screen one day too.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Orcas may be your animal totem. You should look up what they signify.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Once I saw the words, ‘Orcas may be your animal totem’, my eyes lit up and my heart warmed. I eagerly looked it up and I think you’re right!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Nurture a desire to stroke a orca” wow! You are a brave girl 👍👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you, Radhika 😀 I want to stroke one, sit beside one for hours and talk to it ❤

      Like

  3. Auntysocial says:

    Anyone that doesn’t have their breath taken away and feel utterly petrified at the sight of an orca in the wild is either stupid and / or lacks the necessary respect they should have for these incredible creatures. Many that have nothing but the utmost respect and adoration swim with and alongside them on a regular basis and come to no harm whatsoever. Their intelligence is exceptional and very possibly superior to that of humans. If you get the chance to befriend a wild orca – take it. Just be mindful to let him come to you and show respect for what is giving you the most incredible opportunity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, your comment won me over! You are absolutely right in saying they are more intelligent than us and they never harm humans at all! We can safely swim alongside them. I’ve watched so many YouTube videos of people swimming and in the ocean with these divine looking mammals and documenting them. In one of the documentation videos, an orca was going after a fish. The fish headed in the diver’s direction and the orca followed. It could have lunged for it but on seeing the diver, it swerved sideways so as not to hit him. It really amazed me, to see it’s cautiousness intact even in hunting mode. Another video consisted of a huge male orca jumping in the bow waves created by a boat on which a middle aged couple were taking a ride on. They said it followed them for an hour and it made wish so badly I’d been on the boat with them 😀 Another video showed a man playing with a wild orca. He obviously visits that spot regularly, making himself familiar to that orca, and both of them were playing tug of war with some seaweed. It was the most adorable thing to watch and made me yearn to play with a wild orca like that too 😀 You’re absolutely right, we have to wait for she/he to come to us first, allowing the orca to get used to us. If I get the chance to befriend a wild orca, I certainly will! Thanks so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Auntysocial says:

    Countries such as New Zealand have an exceptional regard for Orca welfare including specific legislation to protect them and it’s in these waters you’ll often hear of fishermen and kayakers being followed and approached by one or more very curious, inquisitive and playful Orca. They have a bad reputation as being “killers” with many assuming the clue is in their name but they get this title as apex predators i.e. having not a single threat or predator to worry about. They have free run of the ocean and can go, eat and do what they like and even though humans are their only threat we’re the one thing they don’t currently have on the menu. It seems they’re as curious about us as we are about them and I love seeing footage of Orca tracking boats and divers with a similar playful curiosity and need for interaction as you see in friendly dogs.

    If you aren’t already familiar with her you should look up marine biologist / Orca expert “Dr Ingrid Visser” and watch some of her videos. She literally swims with and alongside wild Orca as part of her research every single day and is an incredible woman that does nothing but good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I looked up a few of Dr Ingrid Visser’s videos and she’s an amazing person, having the fortune of waking up everyday to swim with orcas and working so hard to protect and conserve them. That’s exactly the job I dream about.

      Orcas are known to attack humans only in captivity, as they are separated from their family so young an age – They are known to have sharp memories – and then put in tanks that leaves no room for them to stretch as well as make them get confused with their hunting instincts. It’s really foolish to mess with their minds like that just for the sake of money. If people want to see orcas, they should go and see them in the wild. There are so many means to do that. Going to watch them perform tricks is like disrespecting the magnificence they are born with.

      I love the family bonds between orcas, they’re known to be so protective of each other. You’re right, they are curious about us as much as we are about them. I wonder if they can sense our emotions and attitude. Because whalers capture them, separating mothers, calves, sisters or brothers etc. The other members of the pod watch this, knowing humans are the cause of this separation. They could easily show that anger on marine mammalogists or other divers, as they are humans too, but they don’t. Because they have nothing but love and respect for the orcas and when they sense that, they can discriminate who are threats and who are not. I’ve always wondered about that. There’s a huge possibility of them having intelligence more than we think, plus, old stories about orcas do state they can look into our souls.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

