Unhealthy Diets of Fictional Characters

Okay, so some of you who follow my blog closely might already know I’m a health freak and I always encourage healthy eating and regular exercise whenever possible. It so automatically happens that while reading, I pay close attention to the diets of the characters and most of the time, stare at how in the world they eat what they eat almost all the time and then keep themselves in ship-shape. I don’t know if I’m missing something in some of the books I read, but I keep failing to draw balance between the hot men, model-like women and all the pizza, pasta, lasagna, fried food and other Italian and Chinese food that’s more or less constantly featured as their meals.

151_1stuffed_crust_pizza

pasta-noodles-widescreen-wallpaper-50267-51955-hd-wallpapers

Lasagna-Widescreen

french-fries-1200

Chicken-rice-for-desktop

tavern-double-burger-1100

bgA2H5

Either all those food don’t contain cholesterol or saturated fats, or those characters have freakishly fast metabolism.

This is most prominent, as far as my experience, in young adult paranormal romance and adult romance. I’ve only read two series of the former and three series of the latter, so I can’t be quite sure if this strange feature is strung through in other books of those genres, but Bella Swan from the Twilight series has a drop dead body from all the lasagna, pasta, pizza and fried chicken she cooks for dinner on a common basis; Daemon and Dawson Black from the Lux series have ripped abs from all the meat, pasta, pizza, french fries, fried chicken, other fast food and the load of ice-cream they inhale; The women starring in the Mackade Brothers look either petite, slim or model-like from all the lasagna, different varieties of pasta, pizza, french fries and fried chicken that’s their staple diet, and the women from Chesapeake Bay series follow the same rule. The men in these series may be excused for having the bodies they have on account of hard manual labour, but still, they eat the same thing and it’s, well, it’s hard for me to digest – pun intended. And all that beer those men take! Perfect candidate to give a huge belly which none of them have even a peek of.

Is it just me or is the lack of proper workout and cardio and an unhealthy diet a huge eyebrow-raiser whenever I read ‘hard muscular body’ or ‘Long shapely legs’? No heroine of these series is said have at least a little belly or a tell-tale sign of cellulite, or anything wrong with their physical shape. Everything is perfect and sexy on first sight. No, seriously, it’s not funny. By the way people eat in these books, men and women alike, they should be obese instead of causing accidents on the road. They should have diabetes, cardiac problems, gastro-intestinal problems and constipation instead of good health. They should have pimples instead of smooth skin. Not even proper and regular workouts can metabolise all that cheese, saturated fat and cholesterol. I don’t think so.

Or do authors not know about whole wheat food, lean meat, pulses, fruits and vegetables to mention as diet? Or are all of these a type of wish-fulfillment? I’ve heard loads of people say, as they eat a heavy meal or fast food, ‘If only this goes in and doesn’t make me put on weight’, which is exactly why I sometimes wonder if the authors make their characters have supernatural metabolism and retain those hot bodies. The male protagonist of the Lux series is the main one to have caused this reaction out of me. At least the other heroes I mentioned do some labour and the one from Twilight is a vampire who only drinks blood, but this guy, Daemon Black, doesn’t do any labour and, for the love of Krishna, is his unbelievable hotness given some kind of throne by the heroine. Yes, I know he’s an alien from outer space, but he eats like a normal human being, doesn’t he? No, wait, a normal human being can’t eat that much.

And just because he’s an alien with powers doesn’t justify his physical shape.

The point is, there is no balance between the dietary habits and all those perfect curves and well-defined muscles. Not in my world.

And when people read this, the wrong impression is given.

Which is even worse.

I should say even F.R.I.E.N.D.S, the collection of all ten seasons on my hard-drive which is a prized possession, features pretty unhealthy diets too. There’s a bit too much pizza for good health and with all those coffee breaks they have with cakes and muffins, I do find it hard to see Monica, Rachel, Ross and Phoebe in great shape. At least Chandler and Joey look normal enough.

Maybe I am missing something or maybe I have issues with understanding the fact characters work out even if it is not mentioned, I don’t know, but I think healthier diets and a healthier lifestyle can be featured in books.

What do you say?

Feel free to post your opinions in the comment section below.

~~~~~

Click to discover a new blend of fantasy and mythology featuring nature wielding shape-shifting unicorns available for you, in Ethereal: The Dawn of the Blue. 

Click to follow Dance Dream, a teen fiction filled with ambition, romance and friendship, on Wattpad. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. theonlysup says:

    hey deepika good post .. i see people too much crazy over pizza and pasta… too much addiction is bad ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sup. Yes, addiction to them is very dangerous.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As you noted in your post, they’re fictional characters. I don’t believe they eat like that in real life (or they eat in moderation). Good post Deepika!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you, dear 🙂 Yeah, it’s definitely not possible to eat like that in real life, but still, those characters I mentioned are featured in the real world, so I thought it would be best if their diet is portrayed practically 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I should re-write my entire book, thanks to you! 😑

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do hope you’re not serious, cause this should cover only a minor part of yours, I think XD

      Like

      1. They eat a lot of junk. But, the good part is that I haven’t exactly described them as being hot bodies yet! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha, remember healthy characters, babe!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

