Text Language Should Be Made Illegal

3f55c7e84c8a485cac61f52e1ae86ac3

 

De thng s I hte txt lnge 2 de core. Who de hell inventd t? I wld lke 2 strngle him by de nck. If de vry aspt f mrdr s agst de lw nd cn rslt n svre pnshmnt thn de mrdr f de eng lnge sld undrg de sme!

God, I hated writing that. Yuck.

If you didn’t understand anything from it, my dear friend, you are on my side. But if you understood those sentences, you are exactly the person this post is intended for.

If there is anything in the world which infuriates me to oblivion it is not horror movies or injustice. Nope, it is the crappy short version of a holy language. Look at the sentences on the first paragraph and the one you are currently reading. Doesn’t the former look disgusting? I don’t know when I began to abhor it because truthfully speaking, when I was a tween and in the process of maturity, I used it (I chastise myself severely for that). At that time, I didn’t realise it would be a crime on my part. Being portrayed uninteresting and dull, I thought using it like everyone else at that time would make me look cool and sophisticated.

Yeah, stupid me.

Only now I realise it was the most immature thing I could have done. Whenever I see text language in my google mails, Hangouts and WhatsApp chats, I either feel like cringing or slap the person on the other end of the line. Many times I’ve requested my friends not to use text language, at least not with me, but they just don’t get it.

ACRONYMS1

I wasn’t joking when I said I wanted to strangle the inventor of this hideousness. One of my close friends from college subconsciously wrote ‘u’ instead of ‘you’ in an assignment in English class and she showed me the red circle our professor marked on it. That’s exactly when I realised I loathed the text language. The time I began my career as an author. I think this hatred for it originated fully fledged after I penned a novel; strictly speaking, English is one of the most beautiful languages the ancient times gave birth to. I honour the people who were the God who created it. I am pretty sure I am not the only one, so why then is a ridiculous form of it predominant in the social networking sites? Is there any pleasure derived out of it or are you merely being lazy? I’d go for the latter. It must be laziness.

If you disagree, please feel free to comment below and enlighten me because I seriously haven’t a clue.

But to me, it does signify that the people who communicate using text language are lazy and want to be saved the labour of typing a whole sentence correctly. Or if the reason is that you are unsure of spelling, there is nothing wrong in sparing a minute of your day to look up a dictionary or the internet for guidance. Or if you can’t have access to the internet, there’s always MS Word which sharply underlines spelling errors and gives the correction. Why then do you want to kill English?

Here are a few awful examples:

Thank you – tanq or ty

Where are you? – whr r u

Got to go, text you later – g2g txt u ltr

How are you? – hw r u

Can I read that book? – cn i rd tat buk

I love reading – i luv readng

But I love murdering the language more – bt i luv mrdrng de lnge more

It goes on and on. As you can see, there is no regard for capitalisation or punctuation. Is this the property of those English classes you attend at school and college? And if you are an English graduate using the text language, feel happy you are not near me right now.

All right, say you are a person who chats in your mother tongue using English alphabets. There are people like that as well. There is absolutely nothing wrong in that. What is wrong is that this revolting short form rears its ugly head there as well. I’m a Tamil girl so I’ll show you the way Tamil words are tortured.

Disclaimer: I took these out of real chats I had with people.

Chellam (it means ‘darling’) – chlm

Yeppo nee veetuku varuva? (when are you coming home?) – Epo ne veetku vruva

Saaptiya? (Did you eat?) – sptya

Na nethu puthu dress vangnen (I bought a new dress yesterday) – na nthu pudu dss vngn

The rest of the letters flew out the nearest window along with their minds, I’m afraid.

You think it’s cool, I think it’s utter stupidity.

Please give a language the respect it is qualified for, guys. Don’t assassinate it, whether it maybe English or Tamil or Hindi or Telugu or whatever. Give it respect. Honour it. You don’t have to give it a salute or a standing ovation. Stopping this offending text language alone will suffice. A language has a soul too. It is alive. Please have that reminder in your mind.

7f177734a58c1c7e3e7ccdb07c7c45a7

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Ha ha ha….Lovely…But frankly, it has so crept into our system that we often tend to use unknowingly. Dat waz 1 rockin’ post 😉

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

      Sri Di 😛 What is this? 😛

      Like

      1. I wish Bala reads this post….Even she is gets so wroked up with this text language menace 😛

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

          Yeah she does 😀 Bala and I are kind of Xerox copies, Di 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Witty, hilarious and on the target 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, thanks, Darshith 😀 Glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. balakarthiga says:

    Omg! Omg! Omg!! I am so proud of you right now :’) It was high time someone actually wrote about this!
    (Sri di, I read it =D )

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

      High five, my trusted comrade-in-arms! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahahaha…Deepika I can’t stop laughing, you are so right about all these texts! I don’t text this way but I read some that are and it’s sometimes hard to de-code it all 😛 Love the images you used too. Your new gravatar pic is awesome ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

      Haha, thank you so much, Jen ❤ Your comment created a huge smile on my face. I don't know, when I see one from you, I get all warm and fuzzy inside ❤ Thank you so much for loving the images and my gravatar, sweetie. A little teaser for you 😉 That has something to do with my second book 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Deepika your energy is so positive I can feel it radiating all the way over here in Canada! I love it ❤ Your comments ALWAYS make me smile huge 😀 ohhh that's exciting a little teaser about your new book! I'm loving everything about this eye gravatar ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

          Awwww ❤ ❤ ❤ I hope you like the book even more, honey 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I know I will that’s for sure 😀 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

              ❤ ❤ ❤

              Liked by 1 person

  5. NJ says:

    Now this one was punch 😉 Now I am recalling that how many times I use this slang with you honey 😛 Now that you have told me 😉 I will surely keep this in mind 😉 meanwhile …Kudos for this one ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you, sweetheart ❤ 😍💋 Don't worry, it wasn't bothersome, you only use it for one or two words 😉 😛 Love you! ❤

      Like

  6. Adding to it, is the usage of bad capitalisation. God, they just drive me insane!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? I feel like hitting the texting person with a stick when that happens! It really gets on my author nerve!

      Like

      1. Hit them with the shoes. They deserve it and more. 😐

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hahaha!!

          Someone please ban text language!! 😥

          Like

  7. sweetie after read out this post i am totally changed nowadays i am not using text language and i am also started hating text language now i am started thinking why this people murdering the beautiful language ENGLISH .And the way what you have expressed it was really very very comical. And you are my inspiration my dear sweetie bae!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, darling, I know how much you have started to hate the text language too ❤ Thank you so much for reading and loving my post, you don't know how happy I am!! ❤ ❤ And bae, I admire you a lot too, never forget that!! ❤

      Like

      1. theonlysup says:

        wonderful transformation 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  8. theonlysup says:

    did that just consume 300 seconds to decode your 1st paragraph? i’m sure it did.. i still do not know the meaning of many of these short forms .. i still use google sometimes to decode that when i get such words in my whatsapp haha 😉
    excellent post deepika ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’m sure it did take you that long 😀 It’s a real challenge to decode the way some people use text language, because others present it nearly readable 😀 Thank you for enjoying the post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. theonlysup says:

        U have written some wonderful posts.. I enjoy reading them all..

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you very much! 🙂 That’s an honour 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  9. Seriously gave up reading the first para after a few failed attempts. Loved the way you presented it Deepika. Hilarious and packed with a punch 🙂 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that cracked me up XD It took a while for me to formulate the first paragraph into the abhorred abbreviations XD Thank you so much for enjoying the post, Radhika ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

