Deluge: Agasthya Secrets

untitled

 

Deluge: Agasthya Secrets is a historical science fiction penned by one of my dad’s close batch mates, Dr Ramesh Babu. It’s his debut novel but anyone who reads it would never believe so. I’m never high on choosing thriller or science fiction much. The only book of the latter I ever got interested to read once was Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton, courtesy of loving Steven Spielberg’s movie adaptations – Jurassic Park and Lost World – so much they would have gotten sick of me by now 😀

I openly admit the real reason I was intrigued when my dad told me about Deluge was the Hindu Mythology ingredient. Anything related to the Gods of our religion will spark my interest (Especially if it pertains to Lord Vishnu and Krishna), and this one is based on Lord Shiva, who’s just as powerfully majestic.

And I ended up shutting myself in my room for a solid three hours until I reached the last page. As I slowly closed the book in some trance, nine letters arranged themselves in my mind: F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C!

I was extremely mind-blown by the clever way this fusion of ancient and modern world was plotted out. The legends and myths we have grown up learning has been intricately woven into this web of archaeology, along with the divine power of the Great Mahadev.

I was confused at the beginning, because of the pacing of events – one moment you’re in this traumatic atmosphere with a young couple and next second you’re teleported to the mind of the priceless Maya Asura. As we all know, he is the supreme intellect behind the Pandavas’ magical palace in Indraprastha. And to see such a talented artist in the mind of another was brilliantly brought out. But within a few pages, things quickly fell into pace and swung the rope of interest to fasten around my senses, making me want more and more. The hero Ashwin – may I say is quite a charmer 😉 – with his practical and action-oriented attitude amalgamated with a romantic side was a real star and Swathi was equally adorable in her part. Loved the protagonists along with the secondary characters that came to their aid.

The appalling antagonists lost no time in gaining my curses, though they freaked me out a lot – but isn’t that the prerequisite of a good author? Making readers fall in love with the lead character and house an anger as well as intimidation towards the villain? Every single scene and sentence was written with clarity and confidence. It is evident Ramesh uncle has done extensive research on every area he brought into the mix and I was surprised by the immense roles Indian legends play in every corner of the globe. And this is capable of frustrating any Indian in his right mind: We have SO many virtuous and incredible sources to feed our cognitive development and the only way people used them was to export them to the rest of the world. It was heart-wrenching to see the extent we have foolishly given up and I’m sure uncle would have felt the same, since he was the one sketching this out.

Every single chapter was like fuel added to my raging fire of curiosity and I just couldn’t put it down until I reached the last word of the last sentence, which by the way was EPIC!

I was galvanised by the climax and had a beam on my face when the divine core was revealed. Hats off to you, uncle!

This is well on its way to becoming a national best-seller and I wish that Ramesh uncle continues to write more books. Awesome narration with an awesome plot … readers cannot hope for anything better! 👍

3 Comments Add yours

  1. aruna3 says:

    om namo shivay:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aruna, welcome to my blog 🙂 Thank you so much for reading so much of my posts and liking them ❤ Har Har Mahadev!

      Like

      1. aruna3 says:

        oh thanks for welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

